From the Sedona record

Soldier Pass Sedona (Trail No. 66)

Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 is a Moderate Forest Service hike of 4 miles round trip, about 2.5 hours, that passes the Devil’s Kitchen sinkhole and the Seven Sacred Pools early on, with a steep side spur to an arch (read October 5, 2026). From Thursday to Sunday, plus extended days during spring break and some holidays, the trailhead lot is closed and the free City of Sedona Shuttle Route 14 runs from Posse Grounds Park & Ride (sedonashuttle.com, read October 16, 2026). On other days the gated lot off Rim Shadows Drive has 14 spaces and no restrooms, and the Jim Thompson Trailhead off Jordan Road has more parking and restrooms. Shuttle riders pay no trailhead parking fee, while Jim Thompson needs a Red Rock Pass or America the Beautiful pass; our Red Rock Pass guide explains the pass. The Forest Service says the first half of the trail is often busy, so start early, skip hot middays and have a backup hike.

Last reviewed . Sources and dates are listed below.

Two ways in

USFS trailhead lot (when gate open): gated entry road off Rim Shadows Drive. USFS lists 14 parking spots, no trash or restrooms — prefer the Forest Service Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 page and the how-to-ride FAQ gate table. Sedona Shuttle Route 14: Posse Grounds Park & Ride (20 Carruth Dr., West Sedona) to Soldier Pass Trailhead. Published Thursday–Sunday grid. The lot is closed while shuttles operate — confirm on sedonashuttle.com/routes/route-14/ and the how-to-ride FAQ; check clocks and holiday calendars live. Route number: Soldier Pass is Route 14, not Route 12. On this reading, Route 12 is Dry Creek Vista (also from Posse Grounds). For map and stats, see Soldier Pass Trail.

Trail facts (USFS Soldier Pass Trail No. 66)

Prefer the Forest Service page for trail facts. From Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 (read October 5, 2026 PT; page “Last updated July 30, 2025”): starts in an urban setting and enters Red Rock–Secret Mountain Wilderness; “the first half of this trail is often busy,” with jeep and off-road traffic nearby; difficulty Moderate; trailhead hours — signed trailhead open only from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Devil’s Kitchen sinkhole just off the trail to the right at about ¼ mile; Seven Sacred Pools about ¼ mile further over level ground, on the left; trail meets the end of a jeep road at 1.2 miles; fork at the wilderness boundary about ⅛ mile further — the right branch climbs rather steeply for ¼ mile to an arch with great views; main trail (left branch) grows increasingly steep and rocky to the pass, levels on Brins Mesa near 2 miles, then meets Brins Mesa Trail; trailhead elevation 4,444 ft; elevation gain 641 ft; length / time prefer table 4 miles roundtrip, about 2.5 hours — the page’s prose also says 4.5-mile roundtrip; prefer the table and do not treat a third distance as Index fact; bikes first 1.3 miles only (to the wilderness boundary); parking 14 spots, no trash or restrooms; more parking and restrooms at Jim Thompson Trailhead off Jordan Road; shuttle suggested Thu–Sun. Directions (USFS page): from 89A / 179, take 89A west 1.2 mi to Soldier Pass Road (right). Go 1.5 mi to Rim Shadows Drive, then right 0.2 mi (keep straight where Rim Shadows branches left) to the gated entry road on the left. Check the USFS page before you go. Prefer table 4 mi RT / 2.5 h; prefer sedonashuttle.com for Route 14 / lot closure.

Lot vs Route 14 (lot closed when shuttle runs)

This is the #1 question (“Can I park at the Soldier Pass Trailhead or do I need to take the shuttle on Sunday?”). From the how-to-ride FAQ (read October 5, 2026 PT): the USFS lot at Soldier’s Pass will be closed to the general public whenever the shuttle is operating. Per USFS regulations, the trailhead and lot are ALWAYS closed between 6 p.m.–8 a.m., which matches the USFS page. Mon–Wed (no shuttle on the dated table): gate opens 8:00 a.m., closes 6:00 p.m.; check before you go; have a backup if all 14 spots are taken. Thu–Sun (normal shuttle operation): closed; ride Route 14 — open Route 14 the morning of. Spring break / select holidays: shuttle may run daily, so the lot is closed those days too — check the holiday calendar on how to ride. Calendar caution: the FAQ holiday table lists daily service windows and no-service days that change; verify every date live. Do not assume the lot opens on a no-service holiday. Recreation.gov also describes an HOA-managed electronic gate (open 8 a.m.–6 p.m. Mon–Wed, closed Thu–Sun, and closed seven days during high-visitation periods). That gate information is for road-permit holders. It does not give you parking. This page offers no neighborhood or shoulder parking, Uber guarantees, unofficial shuttles, or tow claims. The FAQ says the shuttle exists partly because of safety impacts on the neighborhoods next to the trailhead. If the lot is closed, ride Route 14, use the Jim Thompson approach, or pick a backup hike (Cathedral Rock Sedona · Bell Rock Pathway Sedona · Airport Mesa · Chapel · Devil’s Bridge timing).

Sedona Shuttle Route 14 (from Posse Grounds)

Route 14 is the official City of Sedona public-transit option for this hike — not an unofficial pickup brand. From sedonashuttle.com/routes/route-14/ and the how-to-ride FAQ (read October 5, 2026 PT): pickup at Posse Grounds Park & Ride, 20 Carruth Dr.; days Thursday–Sunday on the published grid, daily during spring break and select holidays; cadence — published grid on Route 14 (historically about 50 min spacing on dated readings); check live; do not treat old clocks as evergreen; plan around the last return on the live Route 14 page, not the last outbound; timetable may carry an older “effective” footer — check times live; park-and-ride parking and rides free; riders pay no trailhead parking fee; reservations none needed. “Why so infrequent?” The FAQ answers this ask (“…only runs every 50 minutes and can carry 20 people?”). A USFS special-use permit caps daily passengers to each trailhead, which drives Route 14 frequency and bus size. Read the live how-to-ride FAQ and Route 14 for current quota language, seating, and clocks — passenger caps and bus seats change, so check them live. Plan around the last return, not the last outbound bus. The FAQ lists restrooms and trash at pickup and drop-off points. The animal policy is on the shuttle site. Also see the trailhead shuttles page on sedonashuttle.com. Cathedral is a different route (Route 15 from North SR-179); see Cathedral Rock Sedona.

Cave and arch vs “Subway Cave” (naming collision)

Soldier Pass arch / “cave” / “cave within a cave”: USFS names a right-branch spur climbing rather steeply for ¼ mile to an arch. Travellers say cave; USFS says arch. Read USFS before you go; the spur is optional. “Subway Cave”: mostly a Boynton Canyon question (e.g., “Clarity on Subway cave”), a different trailhead. USFS Boynton Canyon Trail No. 47 does not name it on this reading. See USFS Boynton #47 and Coconino alerts — not this guide’s logistics. This page will not say whether any cave is open or closed, whether anyone can or cannot enter, how to find unmarked spurs, or give scramble grades beyond USFS wording. Check Coconino alerts on the day; if something is signed or looks closed, respect it. Kids-and-caves asks (“Cave, possible for 4 year old to hike to?”) come up often; this page gives no ability or safety guidance; see Sedona with kids.

Crowds at Devil’s Kitchen and Seven Sacred Pools

USFS says the first half “is often busy.” Both headline stops sit in that stretch, beside jeep traffic. Traveller questions (“Soldiers pass hike?” · “The most worth it hikes” · “Recs for Visiting Next Weekend”) treat the pools and sinkhole as the draw and parking as the headache. Expect company near the first two stops and quieter trail deeper in the wilderness. Pool water varies; the Index makes no promises about it. The trailhead opens at 8 a.m. (USFS signed hours). Route 14’s first arrival is on the live grid — verify that morning. No lot-fill times or photo-line minutes are published, and none are guessed here. Season: best time to visit Sedona. Pacing: Plan a Sedona trip. Holidays: Thanksgiving in Sedona and Christmas in Sedona.

Motorized-road permit ≠ trailhead parking

From the Recreation.gov Soldier Pass Motorized Use Permit (read October 5, 2026 PT): the permit covers motorized access to Soldier Pass Road (FR 9904), about a mile of rough, unpaved road to Devil’s Kitchen and the Seven Sacred Pools. “This permit is for motorized road access only, it does not authorize parking at the Soldier Pass Trailhead.” It is day use (8 a.m.–6 p.m.), issued per vehicle, to individuals only. Daily permits are limited; check the current cap and fee on the page. Wet weather can close the road. USFS’s trail page agrees that motorized access beyond the trailhead needs this permit. You want to hike: trailhead lot (when open) or Route 14. You want to drive FR 9904 yourself: Recreation.gov permit (road only, not parking). You want to ride it on a tour: out of scope — light link How bumpy are Sedona jeep tours? “Soldier Pass or Broken Arrow Jeep Ride?” maps to the DIY-vs-tour choice. No tour brands named.

Pass questions

Mixing them in one breath is the common traveller mistake this section answers. Route 14 rider: no trailhead parking fee per the FAQ — verify on how to ride. Soldier Pass lot: not on the Passes Program fee-site table; no pass line on the USFS page — confirm on the Passes Program page; the Index does not declare it free. Jim Thompson Trailhead: Red Rock Pass or America the Beautiful — Passes Program and Recreation.gov Red Rock Pass. Crescent Moon: Coconino Hospitality (different system) — not part of this hike. No dollar amounts here; prices live on the official pages. Visit Sedona’s RRP Q&A is secondary; prefer USFS.

Jim Thompson approach and Brins Mesa loop

USFS points to Jim Thompson Trailhead (off Jordan Road) for more parking and restrooms. From the USFS Jim Thompson Trail No. 124 page: take 89A north 0.3 mi to Jordan Road, go into Jordan Park, turn left on Park Ridge Drive, and park near the gate where Brins Mesa Trail begins. Red Rock Pass or America the Beautiful is required. That page’s stats table looks inconsistent on this reading, so only access and pass facts are used here. Loop (“Soldiers pass/Brinn Mesa Loop Hike”): Soldier Pass meets Brins Mesa Trail on the mesa (USFS). The shuttle’s hiking ideas page (secondary) lists a Soldier Pass → Jordan → Brins Mesa → Soldier Pass loop of about 5 mi with 846 ft gain, plus an out-and-back of up to 4.5 miles. Prefer USFS and check live. Shuttle riders who loop still need a return bus from the Soldier Pass trailhead before the last departure. Also see: Brins Mesa Trail.

Difficulty, heat, footing

“Steepness of hiking trails” often compares this hike with Cathedral. USFS rates it Moderate: level early, increasingly steep and rocky to the pass, with the arch spur climbing rather steeply. No grades of our own, and no medical or ability advice. Turning around at the pools is a complete visit. Shade drops off toward the pass, so midday heat is a poor default; see cool things to do on a hot day in Sedona. Bikes are allowed only on the first 1.3 mi. Dogs: Sedona with dogs, with no dog policy stated here. Scramble contrast: Cathedral Rock Sedona.

If you want a different shape of day

Also shuttle-locked (Route 15): Cathedral Rock Sedona and Cathedral Rock Trail. Easy views: Bell Rock Pathway Sedona and Bell Rock Pathway. Pacing: When to hike Devil’s Bridge in Sedona and Devil’s Bridge Trail. Drive-up: Airport Mesa and Airport Loop Trail. Landmark / creek: Chapel of the Holy Cross, Slide Rock, and West Fork. Season / pacing: best time to visit Sedona and Plan a Sedona trip. Hot midday: cool things to do on a hot day in Sedona. Kids / dogs: Sedona with kids and Sedona with dogs. Light jeep vs DIY: How bumpy are Sedona jeep tours? Vortex sites: Do you need a guide for Sedona vortex sites? Holiday peak: Thanksgiving in Sedona and Christmas in Sedona. After your hike: Sedona coffee shops. Boynton “Subway Cave” is a naming collision only, with no Boynton logistics here. Crescent Moon / Red Rock Crossing is Coconino Hospitality (not this hike’s parking pass) — an alternative day; check fees before you go; this page does not state amounts.

Next steps

Pick your access: the trailhead lot when the gate is open (Mon–Wed on the dated table; 14 spots; 8 a.m.–6 p.m.) or Route 14 from Posse Grounds when shuttles run. Check the Forest Service Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 page before you drive — Moderate; prefer table 4 mi RT; 641 ft; about 2.5 h. Riding? Open Route 14 and how to ride the morning of, and plan around the last return. Holidays and spring break can mean daily shuttles, so the lot is closed those days too. The motorized permit is road-only, not parking. Need more parking or restrooms? Jim Thompson (Red Rock Pass or America the Beautiful; check the Passes Program). Cave questions: USFS says arch; “Subway Cave” is mostly Boynton; check Coconino alerts. For map and stats, see the Soldier Pass Trail page. Alternatives: Cathedral, Bell Rock Pathway, Airport Mesa, Chapel, Devil’s Bridge timing, West Fork, Slide Rock, trip-shape, and best time. Have a backup if the lot is closed or Route 14 is jammed. This page does not deep-link a car-free guide. Corrections are free and need no account.

What this page will not say

It does not state lot-fill clocks, photo-line minutes, space counts beyond the USFS 14-spot note, neighborhood or shoulder-parking advice, Uber guarantees, unofficial shuttle brands, or tow / citation rules. It does not hard-code Route 14 clocks, passenger caps, or bus seats as evergreen facts. It will not say whether any cave is open or closed or whether it can be entered. It will not mix Red Rock Pass, America the Beautiful, and Coconino Hospitality as if interchangeable, and it does not declare the Soldier Pass lot free or state Crescent Moon / Hospitality amounts. It will not name lodging, restaurants, or jeep tour brands. It will not deep-link a car-free guide. Fee, trail, and shuttle figures are dated from the official pages; if those pages change, trust those pages.

About this page

This page covers visit logistics from the Forest Service Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 page, Sedona Shuttle Route 14, the Sedona Shuttle how-to-ride FAQ, the Recreation.gov Soldier Pass Motorized Use Permit page, and the Red Rock & Coconino Passes Program page, not lodging or restaurants. Every dated trail figure below was read from those pages on October 5, 2026; check them the morning you go. It does not state lot-fill clocks, photo-line minutes, cave enterability, medical advice, or unofficial shuttle brands. For map and stats, see Soldier Pass Trail. Soldier Pass is a moderate hike with several stops along the way, not a single viewpoint. Within the first half-mile, Forest Service Trail No. 66 passes the Devil’s Kitchen sinkhole and the “Seven Sacred Pools.” Past the wilderness boundary, a short, steep right-hand spur climbs to an arch. The main trail then climbs, getting steeper and rockier, to the pass and onto Brins Mesa. Check the Forest Service Soldier Pass Trail No. 66 page before you commit, and turn back whenever it stops feeling right. This page is not a fitness or medical receipt. There are two ways in, and the calendar decides which one you get. (A) The small USFS trailhead lot off Rim Shadows Drive, when its gate is open. (B) The free City of Sedona Shuttle Route 14 from Posse Grounds Park & Ride, when trailhead shuttles run. While the shuttle is running, the trailhead lot is closed to the general public. Open Route 14 and the how-to-ride FAQ the morning you go. Check times before you go, because holiday and spring-break calendars change. Travellers mostly struggle with the gate, Route 14 frequency, finding the cave or arch (and confusing it with Boynton’s “Subway Cave”), crowds at the pools, and mistaking the jeep-road permit for parking. It does not state lot-fill times, photo-line waits, cave access rules, or parking workarounds. Bring a backup hike. The dated counts this page can honestly print are jeep, trolley and trail records this index already holds for a Sedona day — they are not Route 14 clocks or lot-fill times: As of October 5, 2026 that is 24 trail records, 6 jeep tour records and 2 trolley tour records. The comparison pages below are the lists.

What this index currently holds

Trails
24 trail recordsChecked via: Count of compiled, non-sample records in this index
as of October 5, 2026
Jeep tour
6 jeep tour recordsChecked via: Count of compiled, non-sample records in this index
as of October 5, 2026
Trolley tour
2 trolley tour recordsChecked via: Count of compiled, non-sample records in this index
as of October 5, 2026
Last reviewed
October 5, 2026
as of October 5, 2026

More long-form answers and the comparison pages this page points at. Figures on those pages come from the records, not from this map. The full shelf is on guides; the compact list is on traveller questions.


Report an error

Found something wrong or out of date? Tell us and we will check it. It is free, there is no account, and you do not have to be the business owner. Corrections go to Thomas Karl at thomas@sedonatechsolutions.com.

Email a correction about Soldier Pass Sedona (Trail No. 66)

Opens your email app with the page and a few prompts already filled in. Prefer to write it yourself? Write to thomas@sedonatechsolutions.com directly.