Are Sedona's jeep and trolley tours permitted in the Coconino National Forest?

7 of the 8 Sedona jeep and trolley tour operators Cairn lists state a Coconino National Forest permit or USFS licence on their own website; the exact wording each one publishes is in the table below. 1 operator states no permit on their site, which is recorded as exactly that — not stated — rather than assumed either way. Most of Sedona's famous trail country is national forest, where commercial tours run under Forest Service permits; what follows is only what each operator itself states, quoted from its own site. Every figure here was read from the operators' own websites and carries the date it was checked; none of these Sedona listings has been independently verified yet. This answer was last reviewed on .

Compiled, not yet confirmed How these figures were compiled is explained below.

What each operator states

Permit and tour-area statements, quoted from each operator's own website.
OperatorPermit / area statementFact checked
Red Rock Magic TrolleyLicensed by the USFS for wilderness trail usage; permitted by and conducted in the Coconino National ForestOctober 9, 2026
Sedona TrolleyPermitted by the Coconino National Forest ServiceOctober 9, 2026
Arizona Safari Jeep ToursNot stated on their siteSeptember 18, 2026
A Day in the WestFollows Forest Service safety protocols and is permitted by the Coconino National ForestSeptember 29, 2026
Pink Adventure ToursJeep tours permitted and conducted on Coconino National Forest; the site states exclusive access to the Broken Arrow trailSeptember 18, 2026
Sedona Offroad AdventuresLicensed by the USFS for wilderness trail usage; operates primarily on U.S. Forest Service lands in the Coconino National ForestSeptember 18, 2026
Earth Wisdom Jeep ToursLicensed by the USFS for wilderness trail usage; permitted by and conducted in the Coconino National ForestSeptember 29, 2026
Red Rock Western Jeep ToursLicensed by the USFS for wilderness trail usage; permitted by and conducted in the Coconino National ForestSeptember 18, 2026

What a permit statement is and is not

A statement on an operator's website is that operator's own claim, recorded here with its source and date. This index has not checked any operator's standing with the Forest Service; when a listing is verified with the operator, its permit statement is one of the facts read back to them.

The records behind this answer

More questions


Report an error

Found something wrong or out of date? Tell us and we will check it. It is free, there is no account, and you do not have to be the business owner. Corrections go to Thomas Karl at thomas@sedonatechsolutions.com.

Email a correction about Forest permits

Opens your email app with the page and a few prompts already filled in. Prefer to write it yourself? Write to thomas@sedonatechsolutions.com directly.